In this tutorial we will continue our coverage of The Stream by covering everything that you can do with the posts that appear in your stream which have been posted by you and the people in your circles.
Posts that you publish and posts that people in your circles have published appear in the stream beneath your share box, see Figure 1-1.
You can perform a number of tasks on the posts that appear in your stream including:
- Commenting on a post.
- Blocking a user.
- Sharing a post.
- Muting a post.
- Filtering which posts appear in the stream.
We will cover these actions in a bit more detail now. So let’s get started!
Commenting on a Google+ post
If commenting is available on a post you will see a Comment link below the post, see Figure 1-2.
- Click the blue Comment link.
- Click in the text field to add a comment.
- Type your comment into the text box.
- Click the Green Post comment button, see Figure 1-2b.
Your comment will now appear under the post with the other comments. Everyone who can see the original post will be able to see your comment.
If you notice a spelling mistake in your comment or you just have a change of heart you can edit or delete your comment.
- Click the blue Edit link at the end of your comment, see Figure 1-3.
To edit your comment:
- Make the changes you require to your comment.
- Click the green Save changes button when you are happy, see Figure 1-4.
or to delete your comment:
- Click the Delete comment button to delete your comment entirely, see Figure 1-4.
Note that if anyone has commented on a post you have published you have the power to delete any comment attached to that post.
- Hover over a comment on your post in your stream.
Notice a x icon and flag icon appear in the lower right corner of the comment, see Figure 1-5.
To delete the comment:
- Click the x icon.
To report an abusive comment:
- Click the flag icon.
Sharing a Google+ post
If you read a post in your stream that you find interesting, you can re-share that post to people in your circles if you think they would also find it of interest.
To re-share a post:
- Click the blue Share link at the bottom of the post, see Figure 1-6.
A pop-up box will appear that will allow you to enter a comment in the text field provided, Figure 1-7.
- Select the people who you want to share the post with using the Add more people field, Figure 1-7.
- Click the Share button when you are happy with your settings.
Note that when you re-share a post the people who you re-share with will see the name of the person who originally published the post, but not any of the original comments or +1’s.
Seeing who a post was shared with in Google+
You can see who a particular post was originally shared with by clicking on the sharing link which is shown after the original name and time information of the post, see Figure 1-8
For example if a post shows the text Limited you can click on it and you will see the profile pictures of the people who the post was originally shared with (up to 21 profile photos). If you comment on or +1 this post, everyone who the post was originally shared with will be able to see your contribution.
Other available actions on a post
In the top right hand corner of every post in your stream you will see a small triangular-shaped icon, see Figure 1-9. Posts published by people in your circles will show different options in the drop down list to posts published by yourself – we covered the options for posts published by yourself in the last tutorial. If you click on the triangle icon in a post published by someone in your circles you will be able to perform a number of different actions on that post, such as:
- Link to this post.
- Report abuse.
- Mute this post.
- Block this person.
Link to this post
If you want to share a link to a particular post by email etc you will need the direct URL of the post to enable other people outside of Google+ to view it:
- Click the Link to this post link in the drop down list, Figure 1-9.
That post will open up in full, including comments, in a new web browser tab or page.
- Copy the address that appears in the new web browser tab or page, see Figure 1-9b.
- Paste the address into your email message.
Now anyone that you send that message to will be able to see that particular post.
If a post appears in your stream that violates Google’s Content Policies ( http://www.google.com/intl/en/+/policy/content.html ) you can report the post:
- Click the Report abuse link in the drop down list, Figure 1-9.
In the pop-up box that appears you can identify why you’re reporting the post. Once you are done a red flag will appear next to the post indicating that you’ve reported abuse. You can click the red flag to undo the report.
Mute this post
If you do not want to see a particular post in your stream, because for example the comments have spiraled out of control and do not relate to the original topic any more, you can simply mute that post:
- Click the Mute this post link in the drop down list, Figure 1-9.
The post will now be muted and a text box will appear in its place with the text No longer seeing this post, see Figure 1-10.
- Click the blue Undo mute link, Figure 1-10 to reinstate the post.
Block this person
If you wish to block a particular person for any reason:
- Click the Block this person link in the drop down list, Figure 1-9.
- Click the blue Block button in the pop-up box that appears, Figure 1-11.
When you have blocked a person:
- You will no longer see this person’s content in your stream.
- This person will not be able to comment on your content.
- This person will be removed from your circles.
- This person will still be able to see your public posts.
Blocking People from Comments
If you want to block a particular person that is commenting on your posts:
- Click the name of the person in their comment, see Figure 1-12.
The profile page of the person whose name you have just clicked will appear:
- Click the Block persons name link, see Figure 1-13.
- Click the blue Block persons name button in the pop-up box that appears, see Figure 1-11.
As stated above this person will now have limited interaction with you.
Filtering the content that you see in your Google+ stream
If you follow a lot of people your steam will quickly become very crowded, and finding the posts that matter to you will become difficult. To solve this problem Google+ allows you to filter the posts that you see in your stream by different circles. For example say you only want to see posts from your Family, simply click the link on the left hand side of the stream, see Figure 1-14.
In this area you will find a list of your Circle’s, The Stream, Incoming and Notifications. Incoming and Notifications we will cover in more depth in the next tutorial as we continue with our coverage of The Stream.
If you click on Stream, see Figure 1-14, you will see all of the posts from everyone in your circles, if you click on Family you will only see post from the people in your family circle and so on, you get the idea. So by clicking on the name of a particular circle it becomes much easier to filter your stream and find the post that you want to see.
And that’s all there is to know about writing, reading and commenting on posts in The Stream. In the next tutorial we will finish our tour of the stream by covering the two areas that are on the left and right hand side of the stream, including Incoming, Notifications, Suggestions and Sending invitations. So until next time, that is it. I hope you found this tutorial of some use and I thank you for your time.
Marc Kennedy – The Lucid Nerd